Chapter Awards

The Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) recognizes that its strength lies in volunteers, who contribute their time, ideas and energy to serve the healthcare industry, their profession, and one another. Active participation in HFMA at the national, regional and/or chapter levels provides members with numerous opportunities for professional development, information, networking, and advocacy.

Established in 1960, the Founders Merit Award Series acknowledges the contributions made by HFMA members. These awards are part of a merit-rating plan in which specific activities are assigned a range of point values.

The Founders Merit Award Series was revised in April 2004, returning to its core purpose of " Recognizing the Volunteer in You". Point categories were adjusted to reflect volunteer activity only - eliminating the accumulation of points for membership and educational attendance.

2017 Chapter Year
Award Recipients
  • B.J. Welsh, FHFMA
  • Stacey Medeiros, CHFP
  • Brian Herdman
  • Charles Hehn
  • Fred Molinari
  • Scott Besler
  • A. Christine Putterman, CHFP
  • John Smith
  • Karen Henderson
  • Peter Demos
  • Heather Weber
  • Michael McKeever, FHFMA, CPA

Download HFMA Founders Merit Award Program Information

Download HFMA Award Recipients List - New Jersey Chapter 

William G. Follmer Bronze Award

The William G. Follmer Bronze Award is awarded after an individual has earned 25 (formerly 100) member points.

This award is named after William G. Follmer, who is credited with the creation of the American Association of Hospital Accountants (AAHA) (now HFMA).

Robert H. Reeves Silver Award

The Robert H. Reeves Silver Award is awarded to an individual who has earned 50 (formerly 200) total member points. Reeves, an organizing member of the AAHA, was elected president of AAHA in 1956 and was instrumental in creating the structure of AAHA.

Frederick T. Muncie Gold Award

The Frederick T. Muncie Gold Award is presented to a member who has earned a total of 75 ( formerly 300) member points. This award honors Frederick T. Muncie, an organizing member of the AAHA, and the first president of the association (1947-1949). Muncie also assisted in the organization of the first AAHA chapter (First Illinois).

Founders Medal of Honor

The Founders Medal of Honor was added in 1986 and is conferred by nomination of the Chapter Board of Directors. This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has been actively involved in HFMA for at least three years after earning the Muncie Gold Award, has provided significant service at the chapter, regional and/or national level in at least two of those years, and remains a member in good standing. A chapter may nominate members for this award at any time during the year.