Certification Advantages

Becoming certified distinguishes you as a leader and high-level professional in the healthcare finance industry. It reflects a deep personal commitment and sense of accountability that inspires credibility and confidence in your professional knowledge. Through HFMA Certification Programs, you can show your dedication to high industry standards. 

Become certified with HFMA certification programs to:

  • Validate your skills and knowledge
  • Enhance your credibility in the industry
  • Support your professional development
  • Demonstrate a high level of commitment to the field

Certified Revenue Cycle Representative Program (CRCR)

The CRCR program provides the necessary framework to help set standards of performance and build technical expertise across the entire revenue cycle.  By becoming certified in the CRCR program, you have the credentials that prove you have achieved a high-level of revenue cycle knowledge and excellence.

Learn more about earning the CRCR designation.

Certified Technical Specialist (CTS) Programs

The CTS programs help mid-level managers expand their functional skills, knowledge, and prepare for certification programs like the CHFP or FHFMA. Available to HFMA members and non-members. These programs are offered in the following areas: Accounting & Finance, Physician Practice Management and Managed Care.

Certified Healthcare Financial Professional® (CHFP)

The new CHFP is geared toward financial professionals, clinical and nonclinical leaders, and payers – all those whose jobs require a deep understanding of the new financial realities of health care. The new CHFP program includes two modules (both modules must be successfully completed to earn the CHFP):

  • Module I of the CHFP program: HFMA's Business of Health Care program. HFMA's Business of Health Care – Healthcare finance overview, risk mitigation, evolving payment models, healthcare accounting and cost analysis, strategic finance, and managing financial resources.
  • Module II of the CHFP Program: HFMA's Operational Excellence exam. HFMA's Operational Excellence exam – Exercises and case studies on the application of business acumen in health care.

Earning the CHFP – The CHFP credential is awarded upon successful completion of Module I end of course assessment and successful completion of Module II case study exercises. HFMA membership is required.

The new CHFP program costs are as follows:

  • Module I (Business of Healthcare) – $400 Member, $450 Non-Member – Module I must be successfully completed in order to purchase Module II.
  • Module II (Operational Excellence) – $300 Member only – HFMA membership is required.

Frequently Asked Questions – Additional information is available on the CHFP FAQ document.

Learn more about earning the CHFP designation.

Fellow of the Healthcare Financial Management Association® (FHFMA)

Achieving the FHFMA® recognizes your exemplary educational achievement, professional accomplishments and volunteer leadership and service in the healthcare finance industry. By earning the right to include the FHFMA designation among your credentials, you let colleagues and the industry know that you have been welcomed into a leading organization of healthcare finance professionals. Fellowship is open to financial management executives and other healthcare finance professionals.

Learn more about earning the FHFMA designation.  

Download the current Certification brochure for further details.

Already Certified?

Access the online reporting tool to enter your continuing education credits for your HFMA CHFP or FHFMA certification.

New Jersey Certified Members

List of Certified Members in New Jersey 

NJ Chapter Certification Contacts

 Feel free to contact one of the members below for more information on how to become a Certified Member of HFMA.

Rita Romeu, Ph. D.
Phone: (973) 418-6071
Email: romeur@comcast.net